social icons

Suggestion boxYou TubeFlickrRSSFacebookImage Map

City of Tshwane: government

The City of Tshwane has a mayoral executive system combined with a ward participatory system in accordance with the Determination of Types of Municipality Act and the North-West Municipal Structures Act, both passed in 2000.

City Hall
Tshwane City Hall

The City has 105 wards, 210 councillors and is divided into seven regions.

The Council

The Council consists of 210 councillors, of whom 105 are Ward Councillors and 105 Proportional Representative Councillors. The Members of the Mayoral Committee (MMCs) also form part of the Council.

In terms of the Municipal Structures Act, an executive mayor must appoint a mayoral committee from the elected councillors to assist him or her. An executive mayor may delegate specific responsibilities and powers to MMCs.

The Executive Mayor of Tshwane is supported by a team of 10 MMCs, each with a different portfolio focusing on particular departments in the Municipality. Each MMC chairs a portfolio committee made up of a number of councillors. The Mayoral Committee considers reports of the portfolio committees and submits them to the Council for approval.

City management

The Municipal Systems Act of 2000 explains that a municipality’s administration is governed by the democratic values and principles embodied in section 195 (1) of the Constitution, which states that:

Public Administration must be governed by the democratic values and principles enshrined in the Constitution, including the following principles:

a. A high standard of professional ethics must be promoted and maintained.

b. Efficient, economic and effective use of resources must be promoted

c. Public administration must be development-oriented.

d. Services must be provided impartially, fairly, equitably and without bias.

e. People’s needs must be responded to, and the public must be encouraged to participate in policy making.

f. Public administration must be accountable

g. Transparency must be fostered by providing the public with timely, accessible and accurate information.

h. Good human resource management and career-development practices, to maximize human potential must be cultivated.

i. Public administration must be broadly representative of South African people, with employment and personnel management based on ability, objectivity, fairness and the need to redress the imbalances of the past to achieve broad representation.

City departments

The City of Tshwane has 11 departments responsible for specific areas of City government. These are:

  • Agriculture and Environmental Management
  • City Planning and Development
  • Corporate and Shared Services
  • Economic Development
  • Emergency Services
  • Financial Services
  • Health and Social Development
  • Housing and Human Settlement
  • Public Works and Infrastructure Development
  • Sports, Recreation, Arts And Culture
  • Transport and Roads